Growing up with Marina Keegan

dcfafe2f1dfa7866acb801904dc83f5eI picked up The Opposite of Loneliness because I had heard of the author, Marina Keegan. She was a talented young writer that had her life cut short from a tragic car accident. But they rescued her writing and published them in The Opposite of Loneliness.

It took me a little bit of time to get into the first few fictional stories but once I got immersed in her world of being a student at Yale, I was hooked. One of my favourite short stories was The Ingenue. A story about a girl dating a boy who lies. Without giving it all away, it’s really about the little white lies that add up.

And that’s how The Opposite of Loneliness builds — little by little, page by page. I felt like I was growing up with her, like she could have been my university room mate.

This book isn’t good because she died young. It’s so good and that’s why it’s so sad that she died young. It broke my heart every time she wrote about all the opportunities of the future because I know it was cut short for her. (I mean, she didn’t even get to work as a consultant!)

But if it’s the journey that counts, she had a great one regardless.

axmipir-610x991

 

Leave a Reply

