I wish I knew how to quit you

It’s been more than a year since I blogged on Broken Penguins and yet, I’ve had so many moments that made me think, “That’d make a great post!” And then, there were my friends who were always telling me about a great book they read — and then of course, they’d ask “What are you reading?”

The sad part is, I kind of stopped reading. Which in my world, means reading, like, one book every two months. But in the book blogger world, that might as well be a book per century.

But this blog never really left my thoughts. And while I haven’t been buried in a book, I have been reading The Economist and listening to a lot of podcasts. I guess all the U.S. elections has been more entertaining than fiction.

So maybe I wasn’t quite ready to leave Broken Penguin yet. Maybe I’ll stay this time.

MAYBE they’ll make Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train into a movie! I won’t lie, seeing the trailer for that movie was one of the most compelling, “I MUST BLOG THAT” moments. I actually didn’t love the book as much as I wanted but I am such a big fan of Emily Blunt. Has anyone seen it yet?

 

Other moments include buying this shirt from Forever21. Yes, I paid for a shirt with holes in it.

forever-21-whiteblack-distressed-blogging-graphic-tee-white-product-3-876753040-normal

But what really got me back here? A few months ago, I moved into a condo that is a 15 minute walk away from a huge public library. Yesterday, I finally got my library card and walked all the floors. And it felt great. And this feels great. And I thought, “I have to blog this”.

I found this treasure of a book from 1932 on the shelves and can’t wait to start it:

hindoo-holiday_2048x2048

 

One thought on “I wish I knew how to quit you

  1. Hi Farah, I wondered where you had gone to… Welcome back. For some strange reason you were one of the first people to pick up on my blog… erm…. 5+ years ago. How time passes… Anyway, I recently saw an interview with Emily Blunt about the film, and the clips were terrific. She was impressively down to earth. Trailer looks great too. Thank for posting that. RH

Leave a Reply

