In My Mailbox: June Edition

IMM_books

This the second edition of In My Mailbox, a meme hosted by The Modge Podge Bookshelf.

Turns out, I’m way busier without a full-time job.

Since I no longer plan to be at my cubicle for eight hours a day, I have to keep busy. So I schedule time for my freelance gigs. I call up people I’ve always wanted to meet for coffee. I schedule that weekend trip to Niagara Falls. Oh, and my friend gets tickets to Power Ball and can’t go.

And then I realize my schedule is pretty full. But it’s the freakin’ Power Ball. So I go.

But I what I meant to say is: there are way too many books to read and so little time. Here’s what made the shortlist:

GLITTERING_chaos   IMM_bloodletting    MOUNTAINS_echoed   Emperor_of_Maladies

A Glittering Chaos by Lisa de Nikolits
I’m part of the blog tour for A Glittering Chaos, a steamy yet creepy romance thriller. Stay tuned for the review and author interview.

Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam
I recently decided that I want to go back to healthcare PR and an expert in the field recommended I read this one. In case you missed it, I heard Lam and other Chinese-Canadian authors speak at a fundraiser last month.

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
This is probably the most talked about book right now — maybe just behind Dan Brown’s new book. I need to read this before some well-meaning book blogger ruins it for me with spoilers. (It’s all your fault)

The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee
I’ve always been interested in The Emperor of All Maladies but was afraid to touch it because it deals with cancer. The very prospect of thinking very hard about cancer makes me emotional.

I learned today that Mukherjee confronts the issue of cancer research funding. If you ever did a run for cancer, biked for cancer, donated for cancer, slapped a gator for cancer, you should ask where your money went and how it’s making a difference. On that note, maybe I can put my emotions aside.

Photo credits: theselby.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: June Edition

  1. Pingback: What happens in Vegas… | Broken Penguins

  2. Pingback: Interview with Lisa de Nikolits | Broken Penguins

Leave a Reply

