Reading About Reading

read_cowboys

I like that one of them is reading “Ranch Romances”

I recently downloaded Pocket (formerly known as Read It Later) so I could save online articles to my phone and read them when I don’t have access to the Internet. I love Pocket — my only complaint is that it was difficult to set up the bookmarklets on all the browsers across my devices.

The reading interface on Pocket is super attractive. I always found Evernote to be less than appealing on the eyes and it discouraged me from using it. Plus, it used to crash my IPhone Ancient (formerly known as 3GS).

I recently read The New York Times Magazine article on the famous spy author John LeCarre. He’s been writing spy novels since the 1950’s under the name LeCarre. The pseudonym was necessary because he was working for MI5. His cover was unfortunately blown but he’s still writing! Nowadays, he’s voicing his opinion on everything including the monarchy.

And then there is the drama of Drunk Mom. A daring mother writes a revealing tell all about her experience raising a baby as an alcoholic. A lot of critics are saying that she’s sharing too much, the stories are overly graphic and she seems to show little remorse.

Do you plan on reading Drunk Mom? And what do you use to read articles offline?

READ_cat

 
 

5 thoughts on “Reading About Reading

    • Hi Emily! Nope, it def not for everyone. Although I’m surprised how angry her readers are. I might check it out just to see what all the fuss is about — that’s why I read 50 Shades too. On second thought, maybe I won’t read it. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Based on the interviews/articles I’ve read I’d have to agree with her critics. She seems pretty flippant about the whole thing. It seems like the kind of book that would only make me annoyed/upset so I’ll probably pass on reading it. If you’re looking for a good book that chronicles the life of an alcoholic however I recommend Dry by Augusten Burroughs

  2. Pingback: When Spies Fall Apart | Broken Penguins

Leave a Reply

