Catching Up

CATCH_dancers

Sorry kids, I fell off the blogging wagon. But I’m trying to catch up over Easter weekend. It’s always a little hard to get back to writing after some time away.

In my attempt to gear up to the normal Broken Penguin blogging schedule, I wanted to catch you up on what’s got me excited in the world of reading:

CATCH_spy1. Spies — A few years back, I tried reading Le Carre’s Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. It’s a legendary spy thriller and has been made into an award winning movie. But I read it on a trip to Florida and it was too dark, slow and gloomy. Frankly, it was never supposed to be a beach read so I didn’t enjoy it.

In my second attempt at Le Carre, I am reading The Secret Pilgrim and I’m loving it so far. Just goes to show that you should give authors a second go. Plus, I finished watching the second season of Homeland and had a serious hankering for quality espionage.

2. Khaled Hosseini’s And the Mountain Echoed — I loved the Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns. His latest will be available on May 21. We want PREORDER.

CATCH_taletime3. Ruth Ozeki reads her newest, A Tale for the Time Being at Penguin Canada HQ on April 11st. Can’t wait to finish this one and hear what she has to say.

4. Kindle’s Paperwhite. This isn’t really news but Paperwhite has been available in Canada since January. Paperwhite has a backlight but it shines down on a page instead (blindingly) at your eyes. I hear it makes for extremely crisp reading and sounds perfect on dim TTC subway cars. The Verge gave it a rating of 9/10.

Have a fantastic Easter weekend! See my post on my favourite fictional bunnies from last year 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Pingback: Timing is everything and usually nothing in A Tale for a Time Being | Broken Penguins

  2. Pingback: Timing is everything and usually nothing in A Tale for a Time Being | Broken Penguins

  3. Pingback: When Spies Fall Apart | Broken Penguins

  4. Pingback: Win Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for a Time Being | Broken Penguins

Leave a Reply

