Reading Latin America

LATIN_donkeyI recently mentioned that I like reading about warm places in the winter — especially  places in Latin America. Just like how Scandinavian murder mysteries are distinctly cold, damp and creepy, Latin American fiction is exotic, vibrant and busy.

I might be overgeneralizing but I just want to read a book where the sun always shines no matter what goes wrong.

SNOW_Havana WATER_forchocolate

DrBrinkley_02.inddSOMETHINGFIERCE

 

Waiting for Snow in Havana by Carlos Eire

Synopsis: Memoir of a boy who is airlifted out of Cuba leaving behind his family and country. The book describes pre-Revolution Cuba in all its glory and the author’s pining for a homeland that’s very different today — except for the lizards.

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
Synopsis: Tita, the youngest daughter of a large family isn’t allowed to marry. She pours all her feelings into her cooking which causes mass mood swings in all who eat her food. I love, love, love this book. I plan on re-reading so I can review for Broken Penguins.

Dr. Brinkley’s Tower by Robert Hough
Synopsis: American doctor builds radio tower in Mexican border town. Chaos follows fortune for the town and all its residents. This one is a new favourite! (review)

Something Fierce by Carmen Aguirre
Synopsis: Daughter of South American revolutionaries writes her memoirs. Learned about this thru last year’s Canada Reads. Hope to finally read it this year. (previous post)

LATIN_dress

Photo credits: jpgmag.com & thefashioncuisine.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Reading Latin America

  1. So back when I was in university I studied International Development with a specialization in Latin America. I even got to go down and study in Cuba and work in El Salvador. As a result I have a soft spot for Latin American literature. Like Water for Chocolate is an amazing (if not quirky) read. I also love anything by Eduardo Galeano and Isabelle Allende.

  2. Funny, lying in bed last night I started thinking about “Chronicle of a Death Foretold” by Gabriel García Márquez and how I should read it again. “Love in the Time of Cholera” too.

Leave a Reply

