Last Minute Gift Ideas

I don’t know about you but I plan on running around like a mad woman today buying Christmas gifts and ingredients for Christmas baking. I plan on hitting up Walmart, Bulk Barn, The Body Shop, David’s Tea and Coles (aka mini-Chapters).

Are you still looking for that perfect last minute book gift? Here are my recommendations:

oogycoverOogy by Larry Levin
Perfect for: Pet lovers, Chicken Soup for the Soul fans and friends who work too much.

Oogy is such an amazing feel good story — the kind of book that shows that love heals all wounds. Oogy is a dog that gets half his face bitten off as a puppy but has enough resilience to wag his tail at the pound. Surely, you can drag yourself to work no matter how much you hate your boss.

EDIBLE_selbyEdible Selby by Todd Selby
Perfect for: Food snobs, the at home chef and the take-out aficionado.

I picked up Edible Selby at my Chapters-Indigo and couldn’t stop drooling. My bf called it the kind of cookbook he would put together — slightly dyslexic and mostly chaotic. But it does a great job at showing you what photographer Todd Selby is eating.

UNHOLY_NIGHTUnholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith
Perfect for: Zombie believers, Bible rejecters and fans of Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Unholy Night would appeal to anyone that would appreciate an alternative spin on a classic Bible story. While not a great choice for your church secret Santa exchange, this would be fantastic for say, your quirky nephew or that nerdy coworker in IT.

The Scorpio RacesThe Scorpio Races by Maggie Steifvater
Perfect for: YA readers, horse riders and the feistiest young woman you know

I don’t love a lot of YA but The Scorpio Races is such a great ride. Based in a spooky island town of Thisby, man-eating horses emerge from the ocean covered in salt and only the bravest dare to ride them.Steifvater crafts a strong female lead in a fantastic fictional world.

PARLOR_GamesSide note: I wanted to include Parlor Games by Maryka Biaggio in my list of gift-able books but it’s not out till mid January. It would make the perfect late gift for anyone that enjoys Downton Abbey, historical fiction and a frolicking good time.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Last Minute Gift Ideas

  1. May take a trip to the book shop to have a look at Unholy Night. Why is it that people called Seth tend to be quite cool people? Seth MacFarlane being an example of such. Unfortunately I am the nerdy coworker so will have to buy this for myself…

    • I feel like the name Seth has real hipster cred. Maybe cool parents chose that name and made their kids awesome? This is a great gift for yourself! But if you want to be real recession-chic, you can buy it for a friend and ask to borrow after. It’s a fast and awesome read. Enjoy 🙂

      • I’m a bit too possessive of books, once they are in my possession I tend not to give them back, its always safer when buying books as gifts to either: buy something I already have, buy two copies so I have one myself or buy something I would definitely never want to read.

        I consider it my disability.

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Book Sighting: Edible Selby | Broken Penguins

  3. Pingback: Q&A with Maryka Biaggio, author of Parlor Games | Broken Penguins

Leave a Reply

