Unnecessary Scenes & Characters in Raven Boys

I was really excited to read Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Boys because I was a HUGE fan of The Scorpio Races. But I couldn’t actually finish the book. The story moved so slowly and there were so many characters that didn’t seem necessary to the plot.

I will make a disclaimer that I was listening to the audiobook version of the book. And it probably didn’t help that the narrator’s voice practically put me to sleep. But at some point, I realized that it was the book putting me to sleep too. The sad part was that this story had real potential to be spooky, eerie and fantastic.

Blue is from a family of clairvoyants but she lacks that ability to tell the future. Instead, she can only amplify people’s superpowers when they are near her. Blue has always been told that her one true love will die after she kisses him. But things start to get out of hand when she meets a boy from the local private school.

I might mention that the boy is described as “elegant”. I’ve never, ever heard of a teenage boy being described as elegant. What does that even mean?!

But in the end, I didn’t care much about the characters even when I knew about their impending doom. I also thought there was too much emphasis on the rich kids being dumb, rich and irresponsible. I mean, they’re rich kids from some suburban private school — not Stephanie Seymour’s kids. I also didn’t see how it was important to the story.

I was let down by Raven Boys but mostly because I had such high hopes for it.

Photo credits: betterphoto.com

6 thoughts on “Unnecessary Scenes & Characters in Raven Boys

    • Hi Christa! It was fab running into you today. Yep, run away from the audiobook!! I think there are some redeeming aspects of the book – the plot line is interesting and the setting is SPOOKY! But for me, it didn’t measure up to the characters of Scorpio Races – but hey, it’s a hard act to follow.

  1. I have tried soooo many times to fall in love with Maggie Stiefvater’s novels but each time I end up disappointed! I always find the synopsis of her novels super interesting and creative but there is something about her writing style that just drives me crazy! I was considering giving her a third chance by reading The Raven Boys but I think I will pass it by. So nice meeting you yesterday!

Leave a Reply

