Year In Review

It’s been a big year for Broken Penguins. Launched into obscurity like all blogs (unless you’re Gwyneth Paltrow), I wanted to write about the amazing books I was reading. But I wanted a blog was beautiful – one that looked more like design blogs like this is glamorous. Yeah, I’m vain like that. Because words look good in a book but pictures look amazing on an iPad.

This was also the year I met a TON of amazing bloggers. From book bloggers, to mommy bloggers to bloggers who just plain like to write. And I’ve learned so much from them. I hope to meet more of you online and in person.

While I rarely read a book I don’t like (I usually won’t pick them up if I don’t think I’ll love them) – there were a few book I read this year, that really stood out. I would highly recommend these books to anyone:

  

Wither – Lauren DeStefano
The Scorpio Races – Maggie Stiefvater
Dead Simple – Peter James
Before I Go To Sleep – S.J. Watson

Here are all the books I reviewed this year in alphabetical order! Enjoy 🙂

Alone in the Classroom ~ Elizabeth Hay
The American Heiress ~ Daisy Goodwin

Before I Go to Sleep ~ S.J. Watson
Bossypants ~ Tina Fey

Dead Simple ~ Peter James
Decline and Fall ~ Evelyn Waugh

The Imperfectionists ~ Tom Rachman

Jar City ~ Arnoldur Indridason

Known to Evil ~ Walter Mosley

Oishinbo – Izakaya: Pub Food ~ Tetsu Kerry

Paris to the Moon ~ Adam Gopnik

The Scorpio Races ~ Maggie Stiefvater
The Slap ~ Christos Tsiolka
The Street Sweeper ~ Elliot Perlman

The Tiger’s Wife ~ Tea Obreht
This Cake is for the Party ~ Sarah Selecky

When the Thrill is Gone ~ Walter Mosely
Wither ~ Lauren DeStefano

7 thoughts on “Year In Review

  1. 1. Love the picture. 2. Wither looks really good. 3. Now we can be blogging buddies and start the new year off right. How could I not be interested in a penguin that isn’t dancing, but instead wearing a lovely bandaid x? You’re right…I have to be interested. Hope your new year is fabulous : )

  2. Hi Farah, your year-end report may be a good place (though we are into Feb 2012) to say that I am greatly enjoying your blog – the look as well as the content. And this despite being chronically unable to start, let alone finish any book these days… And thanks for showing a reciprocal interest, though in a quite different area… ATB rh

Leave a Reply

