Waiting On Wednesday: It’s Your Money Honey

UPDATE: Read my review of It’s Your Money, Honey (Feb 9, 2012)

This is part of Breaking the Spine‘s Waiting On Wednesdays weekly meme 🙂

A while back I signed up for a newsletter from Golden Girl Finance. Believe it or not, it has nothing to do with Betty White. It’s a newsletter that talks to women about finance. Everything from stock market updates to how to stop spending. I love it. I’ve never been interested in the stock market until Golden Girl put it in a perspective that was relevant to me – instead of a middle-aged man.

If you’re a financial expert it may seem elementary to you but finance is an area I’ve been scared to learn about. Namely because I have this problem called number anxiety. I see big numbers and close my eyes. And sometimes, I take out my credit card. Golden Girl says this reaction is very bad for women and all too common.

Golden Girl is also publishing a book to be released in March 2012 called “It’s Your Money Honey“.  Here’s the description:

Turning smart girls golden; the women’s guide to personal finance

Rebranding finance with a feminine spin, It’s Your Money, Honey is designed to encourage women of all ages to take a greater interest—and play a greater role—in the financial issues that affect their everyday lives and financial futures. Conversational, irreverent, and intelligent, this guide to wealth creation, wealth management, and financial protection as it relates to women and their families provides exactly the kind of advice that smart women today need to know in order to take charge of their finances.

Organized by decade and the events—from childrearing to retirement—that need to be planned for, presently enjoyed, or recovered from, It’s Your Money, Honey is packed with expert information in the no-nonsense style of a girlfriend who knows her stuff. Finances aren’t that hard, you just have to deal with them yourself.

  • Finally, a book that understand that every woman needs to make time for a personal finance education
  • Highly accessible, the book is designed to be read whenever you find yourself with a spare second, providing important information in bite sized chunks
  • Helps women prepare for major life events with the help of real life stories, helpful checklists, and easy-to-apply Golden Rules

Born out of the notion that too many smart women let their financial situations be ignored, swept under the rug, or dictated by others, It’s Your Money, Honey is everything you need to know about money but were too busy to ask.

Photo credits: etsy.comgoogle.com

10 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: It’s Your Money Honey

    • Hi Jessica! Sticking to a budget is part of my New Years resolution too! And I’ll need it after all this holiday shopping. They make it so hard though – there’s pretty stuff I want to buy everywhere I turn. Hopefully this book and sheer will power will help us.

  1. I am hopeless at budgeting. The only good thing I did regarding money was to make sure I put money into superannuation all my working life and I now have a secure old age where I don’t need to worry about money. All my hard work was worth while. It was my dad that told me to put money into superannuation. Clever man.

    • He is a clever man! And more clever than a lot of people. I forgot the statistics but there’s only a small minority that save for retirement. My parents have been saving all their lives and I’m grateful that I’m off the hook for supporting them when they get older. It’s not that I don’t want to but I don’t think I’d be able to!

  2. Pingback: In My Mailbox | Broken Penguins

  3. Pingback: It’s Your Money, Honey so learn how to use it | Broken Penguins

Leave a Reply

