Top Ten Tuesdays: Childhood Favourites

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday – Childhood Favourites is brought to you by Broke and Bookish, the letter “P” and the number “3”! Here’s what I was reading when I was little…

1. Goosebumps by R.L. Stine

My school library had a very tattered library of Goosebumps novels. Want boys to read? Give them Goosebumps was the school’s mantra.

2. The Babysitter’s Club

I believe I read up to the 101st book in the series before I stopped reading about Kristy, Stacey and all those money-grubbing teenagers.

3. Diary of Anne Frank

Totally fell in love with how she described every inch of their life in the Annex. I even visited the house when I went to Amsterdam years later.

4. Harry Potter

Yes, I was just a child when I started Harry Potter! I was in grade 6 when the first book was published. The last movie for the series was in theatres this year – almost 3 years after I had started working full-time!

5. Purple, Green and Yellow by Robert Munsch

I don’t care what they say about Robert Munsch, he’s a genius in my eyes. Purple, Greek and Yellow along with I HAVE TO GO PEE were my favourites.

6. Ferdinand the Bull

Ferdinand, the sad, loner bull was a highly relatable character. I didn’t exactly play well with others.

7. The Wrong Way Rabbit

Yet another story about a misfit animal. See the pattern? I got this one from a Scholastic book order. Do kids still get those?

8. Nancy Drew

Nancy Drew was girl power that predates the Spice Girls OR Hilary Clinton. She was fearless and would take a bullet for her friends. That’s something that girls need to be taught.

9. The Giver

This story gave me nightmares. I thought it was the scariest thing ever.

10. Ratty Tatty

I have a weird recollection of fighting with my best friend, Lindsay, in 1st grade over a book called Ratty Tatty. I think he steals cheese or something.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Childhood Favourites

  1. my then girlfriend (now wife) read me the giver when we were dating. what a read. i heard that they’re working on a film adaptation of that book. i’m hesitant to see it because of it’s subject matter, of it’s brilliance.

    great list. i may have to do one of my own, soon.

  2. Kids definitely still get Scholastic orders! My son just had a Scholastic book fair at his school which was a bit of a pricey adventure for me… I also loved Ferdinand and read it to him as often as he’ll let me. He is a sensitive kid and is often pretty self conscious so I like Ferdinand’s message of being who you are not matter what other people think.

    • That’s awesome Jessica! He’s so lucky to have a mommy that splurges on books. Both Ferdinand and Wrong Way Rabbit has the same message. You can be loved for who you are even if you’re different. It’s funny how we have to keep reminding ourselves that at any age.

Leave a Reply

