Getting a Library Card

I have a confession to make – I haven’t stepped foot in a public library for at least seven years. After spending four years with my university’s COLOSSAL (but ugly) private library collection, I never thought the public library would ever be good enough again.

But it wasn’t always like this.

When I was little, my parents never bought me books. Like good Chinese parents, they had an excuse for this frugality: I simply read books too fast. But this was fine because the library had more books than I could ever buy anyways. My mom used to take me to story time at the Pickering Public Library, which I considered a trillion times better than my own Ajax Public Library because it had TWO floors!

Yesterday, I got a library card for Mississauga public libraries. My reasons for doing this:

1. I’m poor. Too poor to buy more books.
2. I have no space to keep more books.
3. I live across the street from the library.
4. Mississauga Public Libraries offer free ebook borrowing – I have an ereader.
5. Libraries smell good.

What’s more, within 5 minutes of stepping inside, I discovered the newest Walter Mosely novel published just this year. So yes, your library might even have the newest releases.

My only problem was that I didn’t have a proof of address. The library lady asked me if I had I receive any bills in the mail. I told her that everything was paperless and she thought that was ridiculous. Surely, I had received a letter from a friend or relative.

I asked if I could bring a shipping label from Amazon (my only friend, apparently) and she said yes. I guess proof of address is really important when you’re lending your books to strangers but she was nice enough to let me take books out anyways. Librarians must know what it’s like to really, really want to read something.

Sidenote: Check out the Stuttgard New City Library in Germany. Now, that’s a library worth moving into town for!

Photo credits: pinterest.com, countryliving.compinterest.com

Leave a Reply

